(228) 875-5326 info@fpcosms.com



What do church officers do?

The Session, composed of Elders, as the ruling body of the congregation, is responsible for spiritual and administrative leadership.  The Diaconate, composed of Deacons, leads the church in service ministries (the word “deacon” means servant), and the Board of Trustees conducts the corporate and legal matters of the church at the request of the Session.

FPCOS Elders

Class of 2022Class of 2023Class of 2024
Gail CheneyGregg BraySteve Boskovich
Rebekah CunninghamLeah EthridgeKeith Clayton
Matthew LottBill HennesseyJeff Scallion
Kyle PalmerShirley MartinMike West
Jake TravisDavid McClendonGreg Worch

FPCOS Deacons

Class of 2022Class of 2023Class of 2024
Don BullockMary AshbakerTina Folkers
Dawn GoodwinSylvia BoscoSteve Grandonico
Ben KahlmusChad GibsonBarry Mullins
Aaron KranceNeil Polen
Sonya WhiteKaren Saffle
Vance Williams

FPCOS Trustees

Class of 2022Class of 2023Class of 2024
Jamie DentBuddy BakerLeslie Kelley


The Officer Nominating Committee prayerfully prepares a slate of Church Officer nominees (Elders, Deacons and Trustees) each year and then presents the nominees to the congregation for election at a congregational meeting.

QUALIFICATIONS FOR OFFICE:  The qualifications for Elder and Deacon are found in Scripture and the EPC Book of Order.

TERMS OF SERVICE AND ELIGIBILITY:  Church Officers for these boards are elected for a three-year term of service.  After serving one term or two consecutive terms on the same board, a Church Officer is ineligible for re-election on the same board for one year, but is eligible to serve on another board.  Two immediate family members may not serve on the Session at the same time, and two immediate family members may not serve on the Diaconate, but one may serve on the Session and the other on the Diaconate at the same time.  “Immediate family member” is defined as a brother, sister, wife, husband, child or parent.